A few months ago I saw this video clip where a newspaper seller was selling old prints as if they (the newspapers) were current.  The argument which ensued between customer and proprietor was quite hilarious.  I forwarded this clip to a few of my friends.  They loved it.

I started to wonder about African comedy.  Most of us are very familiar with the American comedians (and some Britcoms), but we are only familiar with the few South African and African comedians we see on our television screens.  I thought I’d look around and see what we have out there with regards to African Comedy.

If you have not yet heard of her, I’d like to introduce you to Anne Kansiime (full name Anne Kansiime  Kubiryaba) of Uganda.  She who entertains by torment.  I find her to be refreshing and, really, quite funny.  Her comedic tools?  Argument and reasoning.  She is young, educated and articulate.  She makes one think, really think, in the most simplistic way.  She is one to look out for.  Now, if I could figure out a way to view her Kenyan television comedic show “Don’t Mess With Kansimme”…I bet it’s fantastic.

