Music Week on The Blog Tag equals a very giddy me!  We were asked to compile a playlist and discuss our favourite song.  I decided to post a song a day starting with my favourite.  Here’s just some of what is on my 64G mobile set playlist:

 

For Monday we had to pick our favourite song.  I do not have any song in particular that I could say is my absolute fave.  However, there are songs that just speak to my being (if that makes any sense).  I decided on a song called Suprises by Israel Houghton.  It reminds me that though I am so unworthy God still loves me…madly.  It’s beautiful in its simplicity.  See the lyrics here.

 

 

Then came Tuesday and the playlist writing prompt.  We’d be reading forever if had to share my actual playlist.  It goes on for days.  There is an artist I really really really love.  The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill – in my opinion – is one the best albums ever.  She is a magnificent talent who makes me sit up and listen every time I hear her voice.  I picked Ex-factor because it’s one of those songs where the disappointment of the end what was and could’ve been is so palpable.  How giving up is heart-wrenching and sometime it’s just best to let go.  Lyrics here.

 

 

For Wednesday I remained with the breakup theme.  Different genre.  I love rock music.  There are some really fantastic bands out there.  But this song….I love the original album recording with all the heavy guitar and volumous vocals…but there’s just something about the stripped-down unplugged version of Evans Blue’s Over.  This is a song you feel in your bones.  Well, I do.  It’s deep.  It’s heavy.  It’s loaded.  I’ve added both versions.  You decide which you prefer.

 

 

 

 

Thursday was the day for some Maxwell.  His voice is like liquid gold as it washes over you.  Just listening to him sing the word “beautiful” can make one believe he is singing just for you.  Those jazzy beats work for me.  His falsetto is one of the best in the industry.  So effortless.  The song I chose is This Woman’s Work.  It’s just a beautiful song.  Fullstop.  Lyrics here.  Kate Bush wrote a thing of beauty.  Maxwell did it justice.

 

 

 

Bring on Funky Friday and I need to have some Friday Funk.  I was born into a great era for music…The Eighties!  Some of the best feel good dance music came from the days of the big hair.  I could listen to artists like Rick Astley, Cool and the Gang, The Rah Band, etc over and over again.  The music, makeup and fashion is what made the eighties.  Everything else can stay there…The music, however is timeless.  I decided on my Friday fun song.  I have to have it playing in the car while I’m driving.  It helps prevent road rage.  Here you go…Fox the Fox‘s Precious Little Diamond.

 

 

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post.  I had fun putting this together.  What’s on your playlist?  What gets you going or centered?

 

 

 

©Shelley Smidt-Booys 2016.  All rights reserved.

 

1918139_10208718258569198_785117963696914047_n

